PHONE : +91-011-23626019
(M) 09811186005
Email : ,

Breaking News


General Manager, Northern Railway Pradeep Kumar released the new train Time-Table of Northern Railway effective from 1st September, 2014 at a Press Conference held at National Rail Museum, Chanakya Puri, New Delhi today in presence of Additional General Manager,Anup Sahu, Chief Operating Manager, Md. Jamshed, Chief Commercial Manager, Ashok Kumar, Chief Passenger & Traffic Manager, Sanjay Bajpai, Divisional Railway Manager, A.K. Sachan and other senior officers of Northern Railway and Delhi Division. The salient features of the New Time Table include the introduction of 57 new trains which includes 11 Premium Trains, 05 AC Express Trains, 04 Jansadharan Express Trains, 32 Mail/Express and 05 Passenger trains. The frequency of 01 train has been increased and 07 Express & 02 Passenger trains have been extended. Also, there are change in number of 03 trains, change in timings of 02 trains & change in route of 02 trains.

Speaking to the press on the occasion, Pradeep Kumar stated that Northern Railway ran 3820 special trains during April to July 2014 to clear extra rush of passenger as against 2968 last year which is a percentage increase of 41%. Northern Railway ran 1939 special trains during Puja last year to clear extra rush. Special trains are also being planned to run over the various sector especially on eastern sector during Puja rush to meet with the heavy waiting list on all eastern bound trains. He lauded the various achievements of the zone in core functional areas also.

Capacity enhancement has always been an important target for us. For this purpose, on 4.7.2014, Prime Minister Narendra Modi dedicated the newly constructed Udhampur-Katra section to the nation. With the opening of the new section, not only did the train services commence to the world famous pilgrim town Katra, it also signified the unity and integrity of our country. With this, last mile connectivity has been provided for thousands of pilgrims who had to change their mode of transport from Jammu Tawi or Udhampur.

Tuning into the life-style changes of the public, Northern Railway launched Go-India Smart Cards for hassle-free purchase of all modes of rail tickets at New Delhi Station during the current year. In keeping with the magnitude of passengers at important stations, the Ministry of Railways has planned for their re-development & modernization. On Northern Railway, the identified stations are Chandigarh, Anand Vihar and Bijwasan Terminals. During the course of the year, we shall strive to provide modern passenger amenities at major stations with high passenger flow and ensure availability of essential amenities at all stations.

Safety is a principal concern as we enhance our fleet of trains during the year for greater passenger convenience. The thrust of the safety efforts is to prevent accidents by identification & rectification of the vulnerable areas. A new system has been developed to follow-up on the abnormalities reported by the loco pilots at the lobbies. Extensive thrust is being given to the use of data logger reports for fault analysis and prediction.

Due to focussed efforts, accidents at level-crossings have shown a major decline during the previous fiscal year. 52 Road-over-Bridges/Road-under-Bridges have been completed during the previous year eliminating level-crossings at busy traffic intersections, while up to June this year 7 ROB/RUBs have been completed.

To improve passenger safety, 21 Level Xing gates during 2013-14 and 7 Level Xing gates during the current year have been interlocked over Northern Railway. Track circuiting has been done at 126 locations last year and at 53 locations in the current year.

ShareShare on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on LinkedIn0Share on Reddit0Share on TumblrTweet about this on Twitter0Share on Facebook0Print this pageEmail this to someone

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>